While some jurisdictions may view drunk driving as only a traffic infraction, punishing those found guilty with little more than a smack on the wrist, you will not get off so quickly in Pennsylvania. DUI offenses in Pennsylvania are punishable by harsh fines, and both first-time and subsequent convictions have substantial repercussions.
Driving while intoxicated puts you and other drivers at risk on the road and puts you at risk for long-term consequences. However, these laws occasionally result in excessive prosecution or false charges, and you might not be aware of what to anticipate to safeguard yourself. Check out josephlento.com to get the necessary help.
General Pennsylvania DUI Charges Information.
The State of Pennsylvania decreased the legal alcohol limit from .10 to.08 about 15 years ago. There are three different levels of DUI based on this criterion.
- General Impairment is defined as a blood alcohol concentration of .08 to.099%.
- High BAC is defined as 10 to.159%.
- Highest BAC: 16% and above
While these levels unquestionably influence how severe punishment is, other factors, such as your categorization, could also affect how you are sentenced. Under Pennsylvania law, underage drivers who operate school buses or other commercial vehicles, are intoxicated while driving, or refuse to take a breathalyzer test could be subject to higher penalties.
Pennsylvania DUI First Offense Penalties.
- All-Round Impairment: probation for up to six months and penalties of about $300
- Heavy BAC: 48 hrs to 6 months in prison, fines of $500 to $5,000, and a 12-month license suspension
- Highest BAC: license cancellation for 12 months, 72 hrs to 6 months in jail, and fines of $1,000–$5,000
Generally speaking, a first-time DUI arrest does not result in jail time based solely on blood alcohol content, although there are restrictions. If your blood alcohol content (BAC) is over.099, you should start worrying about going to jail, but if you are under 21 years old, you might still spend up to 6 months in jail, regardless of your BAC.
Pennsylvania’s second DUI penalties.
The ultimate objective is to deter repeat offenders, even though some may think the penalties for a first violation are very severe. In Pennsylvania, you are automatically subject to a 5-day to a 5-year jail sentence if you acquire a second DUI.
- General Depreciation: 5 days – 6 months in jail, fines of $300 to $2,500, and a 12-month license suspension
- Excessive BAC: 30 days – 6 months in prison, fines of $700 to $5,000, and a 12-month license suspension
- Highest BAC: 18-month license suspension, 90 days to five years in prison, and fines ranging from $1,500 to $10,000.
- All BACs: Up to 150 hrs of volunteer work, installation of an ignition interlock device for a year, enrollment in an alcohol and drug rehab facility, and attendance at an alcohol and drug education program